If you have information, photographs, or anything else to add to these pages, please contact me.

The first West Hartlepool Town Council, painted by local artist James Clark in 1887. It now hangs in the Council Chamber in Hartlepool's Civic Centre.

James Garry is shown directly beneath the small picture hanging on the wall on the right hand side.

A map that shows who is who is available here.

The members of the council were:
Sir William Gray, first Mayor
Alderman J.W. Cameron
Alderman R. Lauder
Alderman G. Pyman
Mr Higson Simpson, first Town Clerk
Alderman Thomas Furness
Alderman Robinson Murray
Councillor Thomas Clarkson
Councillor John Suggitt
Councillor Jack Hawkridge
Councillor Barton Grainger
Councillor John Livingstone
Councillor Matthias Robinson
Councillor W.R. Owen
Councillor James Garry
Councillor William Sadler
Councillor Robert Irvine
Councillor William Smith
Councillor Christopher Furness
Councillor Matthew Gray
Councillor Joseph F. Wilson
Councillor Jacob Lohden
Councillor William Thomlinson
Councillor Thomas E. Pyman
Dr S. Gourley, Medical Officer
Mr J.W. Brown, Borough Engineer

New Information, Comments and Corrections